A New Phase for AFR100: Accelerating Africa’s Locally Led Land Restoration Movement

Tuesday, November 2, 2021
1:00-2:30 GMT | 2:00-3:30 WAT | 3:00-4:30 CAT | 4:00-5:30 EAT

REGISTER HERE

Six years ago at COP21, African leaders embraced a positive vision for the continent’s future, one full of thriving rural communities, healthy soil and rivers, and green growing trees. They believed that life could be breathed back into all of Africa’s biodiverse and productive landscapes.

To date, 32 African governments have pledged to restore more than 100 million hectares by 2030 through the AFR100 Initiative. That work is under way, but thousands of community-based organizations and entrepreneurs still need billions of dollars to restore more land, more quickly and more effectively.

Join African heads-of-state, investors, and implementers for the launch of the second phase of AFR100 – featuring concrete investment commitments – and a look at the top locally led African tree restoration projects.

The event will be hosted by AUDA-NEPAD, World Resources Institiute, and IUCN at the "Nature Zone" pavilion in the COP26 Blue Zone (badges required) and will be streamed online (open to all).

REGISTER HERE

By registering for this event, you agree to subscribe and receive updates from WRI.