Assisted Natural Regeneration: How People Help Forests Regrow

Tuesday, March 29, 2022
10:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m. EST | 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. BST | 4:00 p.m. - 5:30 p.m. CET | 5:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. EAT

REGISTER HERE

Planting the right trees in the right places can help restore degraded land and boost rural prosperity. But in many cases, it’s more effective to let native forests restore themselves – with a little human assistance.

By embracing assisted natural regeneration (ANR) techniques, people can use their local knowledge of the land to remove barriers to the natural regrowth of trees. Leading communities in places like Kenya’s Baringo County, Brazil’s Atlantic Forest, and Costa Rica’s Monte Alto Reserve have already harnessed nature’s power to accelerate the progress of restoration in an ecologically sensible and cost-effective way.

Despite ANR’s promise, important questions remain: What are the conditions that make ANR projects successful? How can governments and project developers embrace ANR to sequester more carbon and protect biodiversity? How can existing ANR effort attract more funding and restore more land?

Join WRI Brasil and leading ANR practitioners from around the world for the launch of a report that explores these questions and highlights prominent case studies of past success.

Together, we will open a global conversation on the turning ANR from a promising and underfunded concept into a powerful opportunity for rural communities, climate mitigation, and biodiversity.

This event will be hosted in Portuguese and English, with simultaneous interpretation in Spanish and French.

Event Calendar

There are no future events at this time.